A Basque Peasant returning from Church

I have long loved this poem (to be found in the Oxford Book of English Mystical Verse, first published in 1917). Alas, I can find nothing about the poet, Anna Bunston (Mrs. De Bary) in any of the usual reference books.

O LITTLE lark, you need not fly
To seek your Master in the sky,
He treads our native sod;
Why should you sing aloft, apart?
Sing to the heaven of my heart;
In me, in me, in me is God!

O strangers passing in your car,
You pity me who come so far
On dusty feet, ill shod;
You cannot guess, you cannot know
Upon what wings of joy I go
Who travel home with God.

From far-off lands they bring your fare,
Earth’s choicest morsels are your share,
And prize of gun and rod;
At richer boards I take my seat,
Have dainties angels may not eat:
In me, in me, in me is God!

O little lark, sing loud and long
To Him who gave you flight and song,
And me a heart aflame.
He loveth them of low degree,
And He hath magnified me,
And holy, holy, holy is His Name!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Basque Peasant returning from Church

  1. Bryan Boon says:

    Anna Bunston de Bary is my third cousin. Her father was my great grandmother’s brother. If you want to know more then please use my e-mail address.

Leave a Reply

