Zo-ee-phobia – The fear of life

Mrs Clinton: “You know, to just be (sic) grossly generalistic (sic), you could put half of Trump’s supporters into what I call (habitually, as implied?) the basket of deplorables. Right? The racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic, Islamophobic – you name it.”

I am not too fond of spiders, so I suppose that I am arachnophobic: I am afraid of them. I would not want to be confined for long in a small dark space, so I suppose that I am claustrophobic: I would be afraid of that.

But “Islamaphobic”? As a Christian, I believe that Jesus is the Son of God, that he is “the Way, the Truth, and the Life”, and that no one comes to the Father except through Him. Now: ipso facto, that means that I deeply believe that Islam is a false religion. But am I afraid of such error? Of course not.

Do I suffer from xenophobia, the fear of foreigners? Well, hardly – being one myself, both in the sense that I am an immigrant to the United States of America and also in the far more profound sense that, as Holy Scripture says, that we are all strangers and pilgrims who have here no abiding city.

So what of “homophobia”? Well, the word itself is intrinsically meaningless. Who on earth is afraid in general of men/humankind? Wild animals that are prey to hunters, maybe? If this odd neologism refers to homosexuals, well yes, I do regard that orientation as being – as the Catholic Church clearly teaches – disordered, and its practice sinful. But do I have a phobia, a fear, with regard to homosexuals? No – except for my fear of the destructive damage which disproportionate and self-serving homosexual militancy is inflicting on the fabric of society.

But there is another, and far more terrible, phobia at work in our world; I am not sure whether I have invented the name for it – the word shown above – “ZOEPHOBIA”: the fear of life itself. The Almighty God says to us: “See, I have set before you this day, life and good, death and evil.” [Deut.30:15] “I call heaven and earth to witness against you this day, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and curse; therefore chose life”. [Deut.30:19]

Mrs Clinton, in a remark about reproductive (barren, surely?) rights declared that “deep-seated cultural codes, religious biases have to be changed”. Thank about it: just how profoundly sinister that is! Yes, I am deeply afraid of her, of Planned Parenthood et al, and their evil works, all of which I label ZOEPHOBIC.

I commend to you something written a few days ago by Fr. C. John McCloskey III. You can find it on-line at The Catholic Thing, in an article archived on September 10, 2016. In it he says:

“The choices this year are momentous – and troubling. But I believe that we can find answers for perplexed voters – ourselves as well as others – by taking a look at the encyclicals of John Paul II.

“He was a great saint who wrote many great things worth reading and re-reading, in particular (the greatest one to my mind) Evangelium Vitae (The Gospel of Life). Never was he as much of a prophet as in this encyclical, where he not only diagnosed the problems of his time, but also prophetically showed what lay ahead by way of threats to innocent human life, to marriages, and to families.

“An excellent preparation for entering the voting booth would be reflecting on the following. As he put it, today we see:

extraordinary increase and gravity of threats to the life of individuals and peoples, especially where life is weak and defenseless. . . .The end result of this is tragic: not only is the fact of the destruction of so many human lives still to be born or in their final stage extremely grave and disturbing, but. . .conscience itself, darkened as it were by such widespread conditioning, is finding it increasingly difficult to distinguish between good and evil.’

“This “culture of death” (a phrase, it ought to be remembered, that he invented) into which increasingly godless societies – aided and abetted by their governments – have fallen, pits the strong against the weak without compunction for the innocence of the victims.”

ZOEPHOBIA: let’s use that word, and apply it to Hillary and to all who approve the 55 million innocent, God-given, lives that have been thrown back in the face of him who is the Lord and Giver of Life. Her name means “laughable” does it not?  No: ‘terrible”, surely.

The British.Expeditionary.Force in France in 1914 consisted of a cavalry division and several infantry divisions. Its commander was Field Marshal Sir John French. Their name ‘Old Contemptibles’ arose from an Order of the Day issued by the Kaiser, which mentioned ‘Sir John French’s contemptible little army’. Thereafter, they have been universally known as the ‘Old Contemptibles’.

In like manner I proudly sign myself: an Old Deplorable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zo-ee-phobia – The fear of life

  1. Micki Allen says:

    I love you, you Old Deplorable.

  2. The ancient followers of Ba’al, who sacrificed their children to him, at least had the excuse that they believed they were spreading their god. People such as Hillary Clinton are even more deplorable, for they sacrifice other people’s children to satisfy the idol of self-interest. I’m afraid i must confess myself to be Hillaryphobic.

Leave a Reply

